French Programs for Schools

Community

French programs for schools in BC 

The Alliance Française Vancouver offers schools in British Columbia a selection of shows and activities for children and teenagers. Have your students practice the French language with thematic workshops and activities.

Clémentine


A show to learn how to deal with family changes through object theater.

Alliance Française Vancouver invites you to discover the story of Clémentine, in object theater, to experience a poetic moment and to ask philosophical questions. This 45min play will be followed by a discussion with French artist Anais Pellin.
On the road to vacations, Clémentine learns that her father and mother no longer love each other. The word "divorce" scratches her ears. Secretly, she promises herself to do everything to prevent them from separating. But can a child decide the history of her parents? Seasons pass and time does its work. From one house to another, alongside her bubbly and affectionate little sister, Clementine tames her anger and sadness. 

A show by the Kleine Cie

From the first grade

February 2023

In person @The Nest (Granville Island)

1 hour


La Chevalière errante


A puppet show about the initiatory journey of a little girl in search of an inclusive society.

La chevalière errante is a story of a  little girl who travels the world in search of a place where she will be accepted. She is alone in the world and her only possession is her great book of knowledge. Chased away  from all places because she is foreign and different, she is very discouraged when she meets an old man who tirelessly plants trees to replace those that an insatiable dragon keeps swallowing. He tells her about an ideal place on the other side of the mountains, where people from all over the world live in harmony. But to get there, she must cross the mountain and face the ferocious dragon. Will she be able to overcome it? Will she arrive to the ideal village? 

A text by Michèle Smolkin, staged by Kris Fleerackers

From the first grade

All year round

In person

30 min show + 30 min discussion with the artists 

La Forêt ébourrifée


A choreographic and poetic show about self-acceptance.

Racine is a little boy like no other, whose forest has grown on his head and no one has noticed. Fleeing from his worrying grandmother and his mocking friends, he runs to take refuge there. It is then the beginning of a frantic race, causing an extraordinary series of metamorphoses. Helped in his adventures by his faithful friend Meï, he will gradually grow up and learn to overcome his fears to overcome his fears in order to better meet himself and others. A place of retreat and abandonment, of danger and wonder, the forest has nourished the imagination since the dawn of time. It becomes for Racine an ambivalent place that he will have to discover and tame in order to better grow and know himself. 

A show directed and choreographed by Christian and François Ben Aïm

From the first grade

June 2023

In person

1 hour

La grande histoire du dessin sans fin 


An ecological comic book fresco.

It all starts in the spring of 2017 with a crazy idea from the young illustrator Elly Oldman: stuck in bed following an accident, she launches into the realization on Instagram of a drawing... without end! 200 publications, 15 meters of drawing and 18 000 followers later, she imagines with the association Electroni[k] an interactive, giant and evolving fresco. This graphic jungle, composed of hundreds of elements, invites the spectator to a contemplative exploration, on a background of ecological and environmental considerations. By turns, children can explore the issue of boredom and creativity!

A project by Elly Oldman presented as part of the Machine à Bulles exhibition

1 workshop 5-7 years | 1 workshop 8-12 ans

All year round

In person or online 

1 hour 30


Manger vers le futur


Thinking about the food of tomorrow through Instagram comics.

Through the annual dinners of 4 friends, Manger vers le futur  analyzes the current changes in our eating habits and anticipates those of tomorrow. The digital comic book, very easy to read, is doubled with educational files allowing to learn further about the different alternatives mentioned. The work, which invites reflection on ecology and our consumption habits, resonates with the current environmental situation. The workshop-debate will allow students to question their own food consumption habits and to understand  their impact on the environment.

A project by Chaire ANCA presented as part of the Machine à Bulles exhibition

For students in grades 10 to 12

All year round

In person or online

1 hour 20

Le portrait d'Esther


An innovative comic book about the spoliation of Jewish property during the Second World War.

Le portrait d'Esther is a digital comic book series that plunges the reader into a family secret: the missing portrait of the young Esther, painted in the 1930s. Seventy years later, Iris, 15 years old, discovers the existence of this painting of her grandmother and tries to reconstruct the history of her family.
Through 3 generations of women and the journey of a painting, the comic explores the issues of the Nazi plundering of Jewish property during the Second World War, the Resistance and the place in Art. The students will reflect on these themes by putting themselves in the situation and then sharing their thoughts with the rest of the class.

A project by Romain Bonnin, Pierre Jeanneau and Emmanuel Rouillier, presented as part of the Machine à Bulles exhibition

For students in grades 7 to 9

All year round

In person or online

1 hour 20

Screening of francophones movies


AFV can propose a selection of movies and short movies on various themes.

Available movies :

  • Funan by Denis Do (Themes : Asia, Conflicts, Women's Rights, War)
  • Bonjour le monde by Anne-Lise Koelher and Eric Serre (Themes: Animals, Biodiversity, Sustainable development, Water, Ecology, Education, Sea, Nature)
  • Mystère by Denis Imbert (Themes : Children, Animals, Ecology)
  • Il était une forêt by Luc Jacquet (Themes : Botany, Ecology, Sustainable development, Nature)
  • Selections of short animated movies

These movies can be accompanied by educational activities. 

All ages depending on the movie

All year round

In person

Depending on the movie

Are you interested in our selection of shows and animations?


School administrators and teachers are invited to contact Fanny SURZUR, our Library and Culture Manager to learn more.
If you are a parent or a student, please share this information with your school! 

Share It Share It

Programmes Scolaires

Communauté

Spectacles et animations pour les écoles de Colombie-Britannique

L'Alliance Française Vancouver propose aux écoles de Colombie-Britannique une sélection de spectacles et d'activités pour les enfants et adolescents. Faites pratiquer la langue française à vos élèves avec des ateliers et activités thématiques.

Clémentine


Une spectacle pour apprendre à apprivoiser les changements familiaux grâce au théâtre d’objets.

L’Alliance Française Vancouver vous invite à découvrir l’histoire de Clémentine, en théâtre d’objets, pour vivre un moment poétique et poser des questions philosophiques. Cette présentation de 45min sera suivie d’une discussion avec l’artiste francophone Anais Pellin.  
Sur la route des vacances, Clémentine apprend que son papa et sa maman ne s’aiment plus. Le mot « divorce » lui écorche les oreilles. Secrètement, elle se promet de tout faire pour empêcher qu’ils se séparent. Mais un enfant peut-il décider de l’histoire de ses parents ? Les saisons passent et le temps fait son œuvre. D’une maison à l’autre, aux côtés de sa petite sœur pétillante et affectueuse, Clémentine apprivoise sa colère et sa tristesse.  

Un spectacle de la Kleine Cie

À partir de la 1ère année

Février 2023

En présentiel @The Nest (Granville Island)

1 heure


La chevalière errante


Un spectacle de marionnettes sur le parcours initiatique d’une petite fille en quête d'une société inclusive.

La chevalière errante, est une petite fille qui parcourt le monde à la recherche d’un lieu où elle sera acceptée telle qu’elle est. Elle est seule au monde et ne possède pour tout bien que son grand livre des savoirs. Chassée de toutes parts parce qu’étrangère et différente, elle est très découragée quand elle rencontre un vieux monsieur qui plante inlassablement des arbres pour remplacer ceux qu’un dragon insatiable ne cesse d’avaler. Il lui parle d’un lieu idéal de l’autre côté des montagnes, où les gens venus des quatre coins du monde vivent en harmonie. Mais pour y arriver, elle doit traverser la montagne et affronter le féroce dragon. Arrivera-t-elle à le dominer ? Arrivera-t-elle au village idéal ?

Un texte de Michèle Smolkin, adapté pour la scène par Kris Fleerackers

À partir de la 1ère année

Toute l'année

En présentiel

30 min de spectacle + 30 min d'échanges

La forêt ébouriffée 


Un spectacle chorégraphique et poétique sur l’acceptation de soi.

Dans La forêt ébouriffée, il est question de Racine, un petit garçon pas comme les autres, dont personne n’a remarqué la forêt qui a poussé sur sa tête. Fuyant sa grand-mère inquiétante et ses camarades railleurs, il court s’y réfugier. C’est alors le début d’une course effrénée, provoquant une extraordinaire série de métamorphoses. Aidé dans ses péripéties par sa fidèle amie Meï, il va peu à peu grandir et apprendre à surmonter ses peurs pour mieux aller à la rencontre de lui-même et des autres.
Lieu de repli et d’abandon, du danger et du merveilleux, la forêt nourrit depuis la nuit des temps les imaginaires. Elle devient pour Racine un lieu ambivalent qu’il va devoir découvrir et apprivoiser pour mieux grandir et se connaître.

Un spectacle mis en scène et chorégraphié par Christian et François Ben Aïm

À partir de la 1ère année

Juin 2023

En présentiel

1 heure


La grande histoire du dessin sans fin  


Une fresque BD écologique.

Tout commence au printemps 2017 par une idée folle de la jeune illustratrice Elly Oldman : coincée dans son lit à la suite d’un accident, elle se lance dans la réalisation sur Instagram d’un dessin… sans fin ! 200 publications, 15 mètres de dessin et 18 000 followers plus tard, elle imagine avec l’association Electroni[k] une fresque interactive, géante et évolutive, à découvrir en dessins. Cette jungle graphique, composée de centaines d’éléments, invite le spectateur à une exploration contemplative, sur fond de considération écologique et environnementale. A leur tour, les enfants peuvent explorer la question de l’ennui et la créativité !

Un projet d'Elly Oldman présenté dans le cadre de l'exposition Machines à Bulles

1 atelier 5-7 ans | 1 atelier 8-12 ans

Toute l'année

En présentiel ou en virtuel

1 heure 30


Manger vers le futur 


Penser notre alimentation de demain en BD Instagram.

A travers les dîners annuels de 4 amis, Manger vers le futur analyse les évolutions actuelles de nos modes d’alimentation et anticipe ceux de demain. La BD numérique, très facile à lire, est doublée des dossiers pédagogiques permettant d’aller plus loin pour se renseigner sur les différentes alternatives évoquées. L’œuvre, qui invite à une réflexion sur l’écologie et nos habitudes de consommation, résonne avec beaucoup de pertinence avec l’actualité environnementale. L’atelier-débat permettra aux élèves de s’interroger sur leurs propres habitudes de consommation alimentaire et de comprendre leur impact sur l'écosystème.

Un projet de Chaire ANCA présenté dans le cadre de l'exposition Machines à Bulles

Pour les élèves  de 10e à 12e années

Toute l'année

En présentiel ou en virtuel

1 heure 20

Le portrait d'Esther    


Une BD innovante sur la spoliation des biens juifs durant la Seconde Guerre Mondiale.

Le portrait d’Esther est une série en bande dessinée numérique qui plonge le lecteur dans un secret de famille : celui du portrait disparu de la jeune Esther, peint dans les années 1930. Soixante-dix ans plus tard, Iris, 15 ans, découvre l’existence de ce tableau représentant sa grand-mère et tente de reconstituer l’histoire de sa famille.
A travers 3 générations de femmes et le parcours d’un tableau, la BD explore les questions des spoliations des biens juifs par les nazis pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, la Résistance et la place dans l’Art. Les élèves vont réfléchir à ces thématiques en se mettant en situation et partagent ensuite leurs réflexions avec le reste de la classe.  

Un projet de Romain Bonnin, Pierre Jeanneau et Emmanuel Rouillier, présenté dans le cadre de l'exposition Machines à Bulles

Pour les élèves de 7e à 9e années

Toute l'année

En présentiel ou en virtuel

1 heure 20

Projection de films francophones 


L’AFV peut proposer une sélection de films, long-métrages et court-métrages sur divers thématiques.

Dans les films disponibles :

  • Funan de Denis Do (Thématiques : Asie, Conflits, Droits des femmes, Guerre)
  • Bonjour le monde de Anne-Lise Koelher et Eric Serre (Thématiques : Animaux, Biodiversité, Développement durable, Eau, Écologie, Éducation, Mer, Nature)
  • Mystère, de Denis Imbert (Thématiques : Enfance, Animaux, Écologie)
  • Il était une forêt de Luc Jacquet (Thématiques : Botanique, Écologie, Développement durable, Nature)
  • Sélections de courts métrages d’animation

Ces films peuvent s'accompagner d'activités pédagogiques. 

Tous les âges selon le film

Toute l'année

En présentiel 

Durée selon le film

Nos spectacles et animations vous intéressent ?


Le personnel administratif et enseignant des écoles est invité à contacter Fanny SURZUR, notre responsable Médiathèque et Culture pour en savoir plus.
Si vous ètes un parent ou un élève, partagez cette information avec votre école ! 

Partagez Partagez