Our History

Serving Vancouver since 1904

Alliance Française Vancouver has a long history of serving the community by providing French language programs and promoting local and international francophone cultures through the events it organises. As one of Vancouver’s oldest not-for-profit organizations, Alliance Française Vancouver is recognized for its commitment to quality education and diverse cultural programming.

Alliance Française Vancouver in the community
Each year,  Alliance Française Vancouver collaborates with over 50 local arts and cultural groups and artists.  Alliance Française Vancouver  is an active member of the BC Federation of Francophones which advocates for the welfare of the minority francophone community in BC. Alliance Française Vancouver  is also part of a global network of Alliances Françaises regrouping 834 centres in 132 countries. Each member of the network is independent and autonomous.  Alliance Française Vancouver recently joined the Réseau International des Maisons des Francophonies (RIMF) regrouping organizations working to promote a plural, diverse and inclusive Francophonie around the world, including here in Canada. This network comprises of over 30 organisations from 16 different countries.

A local and independent organisation with oversight by an elected board of directors
Alliance Française Vancouver is a Canadian not-for-profit organisation, incorporated under the Societies Act of the Province of British Columbia. It is a registered Canadian charitable organization.  It  operates autonomously and independently, without any political or religious affiliation with oversight by an elected board of directors who are volunteers and locally-based. While it benefited from the support of the French government in the past, AFV has been 100% self financed since September 2014.

Key milestones in our long  history:

1904

Alliance Française  Vancouver was founded by the early Francophone and Anglophone settlers of Vancouver.

1947 - 1968

Mr. Charles Bloch-Bauer, originally from Vienna, turned the social group into a true language and cultural centre with full time staff. He raised funds to purchase land and build a permanent home for Alliance Française Vancouver.

1955

Alliance Française Vancouver is incorporated as a non-profit society under the Society’s Act of the Province of British Columbia.

1968

Alliance Française Vancouver’s building opens at 6161 Cambie Street thanks to the generous support of the community.

1970's

More cultural programs in its space, theatre, art exhibitions, culinary and fitness programs. The Official Language Act allowed Alliance Française Vancouver to diversify its education programs. Teachers went from school to school in Vancouver. Alliance Française Vancouver started a bursary at UBC and SFU. 

1986

Part of Vancouver Expo 1986 and facilitated a gift of 100 rose bushes from the French government. The roses were planted in Stanley Park. 

1996

The City proclaimed Alliance Française Vancouver to be a valued partner and distinguished contributor to the cultural life of the citizens of Vancouver since 1904. 

2003

Alliance Française Vancouver offered courses in Coquitlam, Burnaby, Surrey, Vancouver and Richmond for immigrants from Asia.  

2004

The City proclaims May 5th as Alliance Française de Vancouver 100th anniversary Day.  

2018

Alliance Française Vancouver is nominated as an historic place in B.C. through the Francophone Historic Places Recognition Project led by the B.C. Francophone Affairs Program.

2016 
to present

Alliance Française Vancouver is working on an ambitious building project to match its excellence in education and cultural programming. 

Share It Share It

Notre Histoire

Au service de Vancouver depuis 1904

L’Alliance Française Vancouver a une longue histoire au service de la communauté en offrant des programmes en langue française et en soutenant les cultures locales et internationales francophones. En tant que l’une des plus vieilles organisation a but non lucratif de Vancouver, l’Alliance Française est reconnue pour son engagement envers une éducation de qualité et une programmation culturelle diversifiée.

L'Alliance Française Vancouver dans la communauté
Chaque année, l’Alliance Française Vancouver collabore avec plus de 50 artistiques et partenaires culturels locaux. L'Alliance Française Vancouver est un membre actif de la Fédération des francophones de la Colombie Britannique. Elle fait aussi partie du réseau des Alliances F rançaises regroupant 834 centres dans 132 pays différents. Chaque membre de ce réseau est indépendant et autonome. L'Alliance Française Vancouver a récemment rejoint le Réseau International des Maisons des Francophonies (RIMF) regroupant les organisations qui oeuvrent envers la promotion de la pluralité et de la diversité francophone dans le monde notamment, ici, au Canada. Ce réseau comprend plus de 30 organisations provenant de 16 pays différents.

Une organisation locale et indépendante supervisée par un conseil d’administration
L’Alliance Française Vancouver est une organisation a but non lucrative, constituée en vertu de la Loi sur la société de la Colombie Britannique et un organisme de bienfaisance canadien enregistré. L’Alliance Française Vancouver fonctionne de manière autonome et indépendante, sans aucune affiliation politique ou religieuse, sous la supervision d'un conseil d'administration élu de membres bénévoles locaux. Si elle a bénéficié du soutien du gouvernement français dans le passé, l’Alliance Française Vancouver s'autofinance à 100% depuis septembre 2014.

1904

L’Alliance Française Vancouver est fondée par les premiers colons francophones et anglophones de Vancouver.

1947 - 1968

M. Charles Bloch-Bauer, originaire de Vienne, a fait du groupe social un véritable centre linguistique et culturel avec du personnel à temps plein. Il recueille des fonds pour l’achat d’un terrain sur lequel sera construit un bâtiment permanent pour l'Alliance Française Vancouver.

1955

L’Alliance Française Vancouver est constituée en association à but non lucratif en vertu de la Loi sur la société de la Colombie-Britannique.

1968

Ouverture de l'Alliance Française Vancouver dans son nouveau bâtiment au 6161, rue Cambie grâce aux généreux donateurs de la communauté.

années 1970

Plus de programmes culturels sont organisés dans son espace -pièces de théâtre, expositions d’art, programmes culinaires et de remises en forme. La Loi sur les langues officielles a permis à l'Alliance Française Vancouver de diversifier ses programmes d’éducation. 

L' Alliance Française Vancouver créé une bourse à UBC et à SFU. 

1986

L'Alliance Française Vancouver participe à l’Exposition de Vancouver en 1986. 100 rosiers sont offerts par le gouvernement Français et plantés dans le parc Stanley.

1996

La Ville de Vancouver reconnait l'Alliance Française Vancouver comme partenaire précieux et contributeur incontournable à la vie culturelle des citoyens de Vancouver depuis 1904. 

2003

L'Alliance Française Vancouver offre des cours à Coquitlam, Burnaby, Surrey, Vancouver et Richmond pour les immigrants venus d'Asie.  

2004

Le 5 mai, la ville de Vancouver fête le 100e anniversaire de l’Alliance Française Vancouver.  

2018

Dans le cadre du Projet de reconnaissance des lieux historiques francophones dirigé par le Programme des affaires francophones de la Colombie Britannique, l' Alliance Française Vancouver est désignée comme lieu historique en Colombie Britannique.

2016 
à nos jours

L'Alliance Française Vancouver travaille sur un projet ambitieux de construction qui reflètera son excellence en matière d’éducation et de programmation culturelle. 

Partagez Partagez